Logo IAP

Member Login

The EASAC Biosciences Steering Panel is chaired by Volker ter Meulen (Germany). Biosciences Programme Director Robin Fears (UK) is responsible for the Panel's general organisation and day-to-day business.

The Panel meets normally twice yearly to discuss the latest issues of concern to the Biosciences community, general strategy and decisions on project proposals.


Panel Members

Volker ter Meulen (Germany) is the Chair of EASAC's Biosciences Programme. He qualified as MD in 1960. He received his post-doctoral training in virology in the USA, at the Children's Hospital of ... more

Robin Fears (EASAC Secretariat) is the Director of EASAC's Biosciences Programme. He trained as a biochemist and had 30 years experience in the pharmaceutical industry in the UK in R&D. The early years were focused... more

Diederick Grobbee (Netherlands) is Professor of Clinical Epidemiology at the University Medical Center Utrecht and chair of the Julius Center for Health Sciences and Primary Care. He obtained an... more

George Kollias (Greece) is a member of the Academy of Athens, Professor of Experimental Physiology at the Medical School of the University of Athens and Director of the Immunology Division at... more

Malgorzata Kossut (Poland) is Professor of Neuroscience and Head of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology at the Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology... more

Ulf Landegren (Sweden) received his MD and PhD in cellular immunology at Uppsala University, Sweden, followed by a postdoc at Caltech in USA. He is currently professor of molecular medicine at... more

Richard O'Kennedy (Ireland)

Vaclav Paces (Czech Republic) is professor at the Department of Genomics and Bioinformatics and former president of the Czech Academy of Sciences.

Maria Salome Soares Pais (Portugal) received her PhD on Plant Biology at the École Normale Supérieur in Paris. Between 1982 and 2003, she was a full professor at the Department of Plant Biology of the... more

Ole H. Petersen (UK) is Medical Research Council Professor and Director of Cardiff University's School of Biosciences. Educated as a medical doctor at the University of Copenhagen, he has been... more

Pere Puigdomènech (Spain) is Research Professor of CSIC in the Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics, Barcelona. His main present research area is Plant Molecular Biology and Genomics... more

Rolf K. Reed (Norway) is professor of physiology and Head of the Department of Biomedicine, University of Bergen, Norway. He received is MD and PhD from University of Bergen about 30 years ago. His research has focused... more

Isabel Roditi (Switzerland) is Full Professor and Co-Director of the Institute of Cell Biology at the University of Bern since 1999. She studied Biochemistry in Oxford and obtained a PhD in Virology from Cambridge before moving to the field of Molecular Parasitology. more

Beata Sperlagh is the deputy director and Head of Department of Pharmacology and Laboratory of Molecular Pharmacology of Institute of Experimental Medicine, Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HAS), Budapest, Hungary...more

Jari P. T. Valkonen (Finland) is professor of plant pathology and director of the Doctoral School in Environmental, Food and Biosciences, one of the four doctoral schools of University of Helsinki, Finland. His research... more

Jean Weissenbach (France) is director of research at the French National Centre of Scientific Research (CNRS) and the director of Genoscope, the national Centre of Sequencing. During his career he focused on... more


For more information or to contact a member of the Biosciences Steering Panel, please send an email to secretariat@easac.eu.