Logo IAP

Member Login

EASAC continues to promote the findings of its recent reports on electricity storage, on the multifunctionality and sustainability of EU forests and on the management of spent nuclear fuel and its wastes.

Decarbonisation of Transport

Experts were nominated by their national science academies in the Spring of 2017 to form a new EASAC working group on the decarbonisation of transport.  The project is being led by the Swiss academies of Arts and Sciences and began with a workshop on 4 July 2017, where the EASAC experts met together with experts from the European Commission and stakeholders from the transport sector to discuss the challenges being faced by EU policy makers in this field.

On the basis of these discussions, the working group members are now working to refine the scope and outline contents of an EASAC report. They are also analyzing and bringing together the first sets of data and evidence, and preparing some initial texts which will form the basis for the first draft of the EASAC report. 

The planned EASAC report, which is scheduled for completion by the end of 2018, will contain recent scientific evidence and facts related to the decarbonisation of transport, as well as discussions of the policy options, which will be needed to deliver the commitments which have already been made by the EU to decarbonise its transport sector. 

Further details will be available towards the end of 2017.

Looking to the future, EASACís energy steering panel is actively exploring other areas of EU energy and climate policy to which it could contribute independent science based evidence and advice, notably in areas of energy efficiency as well as in energy supply systems and technologies.

For further information on any of these projects please contact secretariat@easac.eu.






  • Sturm, Peter-Johann - AT
  • Kretzschmar, Jan - BE
  • Duic, Neven - HR
  • Lauriko, Juhani - FI
  • Bradshaw, Alexander - DE
  • Hamacher, Thomas - DE
  • Giannopoulos, George - GR
  • Starikovs, Aivars - LT
  • Blok, Kornelius - NL
  • La Poutre, Han - NL
  • Elverhoi, Anders - NO
  • Rachlew, Elisabeth - SE
  • Johnsson, Filip - SE
  • Boulouchos, Konstantinos - CH
  • Schmidt, Thomas Justus - CH
  • Georges, Gil - CH
  • Bruce, Peter - UK