Logo IAP

Member Login

The EASAC Energy Steering Panel is chaired by Peter Lund (Finland). Energy Programme Director William Gillett (UK) is responsible for the Panel's general organisation and day-to-day business.

The Panel meets normally twice yearly to discuss the latest issues of concern to the Energy science community, general strategy and decisions on project proposals.


Panel Members

Peter Lund (Finland) is the Chair of EASAC's Energy Programme. He is Professor (Engineering Physics/Advanced Energy Systems) at Aalto University (formerly Helsinki University of Technology) and... more

William Gillett (EASAC Secretariat) is the Director of EASAC's Energy Programme, ... more

Bob Ainsworth (UK) joined the University of Manchester as BNFL Professor of Structural Integrity in early 2011 after over 35 years in the UK electricity supply industry. There he was heavily involved in... more

Marc Oliver Bettzuege (Germany) has been full professor of economics, in particular energy economics, and Head of the Chair of Energy Economics - Department of Economics - at the University of Cologne since... more

Konstantinos Boulouchos (Switzerland), Professor at the Institute of Energy Technology of the ETH Zurich since 2002, is Director of the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research "Efficient Mobility", a Steering Committee Member of the Energy Commission of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences and on the Scientific Advisory Board of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences (SATW).... more

Alexander Bradshaw (Germany) was Scientific Director of the Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics and is now a guest at the Fritz-Haber Institute of the Max-Planck Society... more

Sebastien Candel (France) obtained his engineering degree from Ecole Centrale Paris in 1968, PhD in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mathematics from the California Institute of Technology in 1972 and... more

Maria da Graca Carvalho (Portugal) has been a member of the European Parliament in the PPE group since 14 July 2009 (member of the ITRE-Industry, Research and Energy Committee,... more

Loucas Christophorou (Greece) obtained a BSc degree in Physics in 1960 from the University of Athens, Greece and a PhD and DSc degrees in Physics from the University of Manchester...more

Laszlo P. Csernai (Norway) is Professor of Physics of the University of Bergen
and coordinator of the Energy activity of Academia Europaea's Knowledge Hub in Region Bergen as... more

Anders Elverhoi (Norway) is currently responsible for the development of research and education of sustainable enery system at the University of Oslo ... more

Akos Horvath (Hungary) is presently the general director of MTA Centre for Energy Research in Hungary. His scientific career has been in high temperature corrosion, radiation ageing, and... more

Petr Krenek (Czech Republic) is Director of the Institute of Plasma Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences. He received his M.S. degree in electrical power engineering from the... more

Jan Kretzschmar (Belgium): After 42 years of applied research prof.dr.ir. Jan Kretzschmar retired mid 2007 as research director Energy, Materials and Environmental Technology at VITO,... more

John Ludden (United Kingdom): Executive Director at the British Geological Survey and an Executive member of the Natural Environment Sciences Research Council, UK, since 2006, John has held numerous science direction and management posts... more

Enn Lust (Estonia) is Professor of Physical Chemistry and Director of the Institute of Chemistry at University of Tartu. He has studied the electrochemical power sources and energy issues, energy efficiency,... more

Mark O'Malley (Republic of Ireland) is the Professor of Electrical Engineering at University College Dublin and is the founder and Director of the Electricity Research Centre, an industry supported research group, chaired by... more

Michael Ornetzeder (Austria) is a Senior Researcher at the Institute of Technology Assessment at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and a Lecturer at the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna. His... more

Alojz Poredos (Slovenia) is Professor for Heating, Refrigeration, Air Conditioning, and Heat and Mass Transfer in the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in the University of Ljubljana. His research interests are... more

Elisabeth Rachlew (Sweden) is professor of Applied Atomic and Molecular Physics at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden. She has her PhD from Uppsala University and... more

Richard van de Sanden (Netherlands) is the director of the Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research (DIFFER since 2011) and a Professor at the Department of Applied Physics of the Eindhoven University of ... more

Eugenijus Uspuras (Lithuania) is Director of the Lithuanian Energy Institute. He is a member of the European Nuclear Society, the Council of the Lithuanian Energy Institute, the... more


For more information or to contact a member of the Energy Steering Panel, please send an email to secretariat@easac.eu.